Call me morose, but during my first week of university a month ago – I looked around at how big the cohort was and realised that not everybody streaming into class would live a full life. Coming from a school where everyone knew everyone and going into a 20k+ stronghold was a huge change and that was one of the thoughts that popped into my head. Tragedies happen every day, but the fact that this one happened in the way that it transpired is sickening. I know that it could have been any of myself or my friends under that wall at that time, I was at uni during those winds and I could barely move – even as a solidly built guy. I feel completely ill, and devastated; and I wish the Jones family well in the future. A long life to all of Alex and Bridget’s family and friends – there is no braver way to go than protecting your loved ones from harm. May they always be together from now on.

 

To the other unidentified woman who passed on, my sympathy to your family. I hope they are comforted with the right answers and can heal in the future. 

Leave a comment